Host: Chongqing Foreign Trade and Economic Relations CommerceUndertaker: Chongqing Investment Promotion Association

Chongqing is a famous historical and cultural city in China. It has a long history of more than 3000 years and glorious revolutionary tradition. The ancient Bayu region where centered on Chongqing city is the birthplace of the Bayu culture. This land has bred a long history of Chongqing.

At the end of the Paleolithic Age-20,000-30,000 years ago, there were already human beings living in Chongqing. During the Shang and Zhou Dynasties in the 11th century BC, Ba people took Chongqing as their capital and established the Ba State. However it was destroyed at the end of Qin Dynasty, China was divided into 36 counties and Ba county was one of them. In its heyday, the territory of the State of Ba took Chongqing as its administrative center and governed Eastern Sichuan, Southern Shaanxi, western Hubei, Northwestern Hunan and Northern Guizhou. Since the Qin and Han Dynasties, this region had been a unified administrative jurisdiction for most of the time, and its administrative center was located in the former Chongqing City. Chongqing was known as Jiangzhou in ancient times, and later as Ba county, Chuzhou, Yuzhou and Gongzhou. In the Northern and Southern Dynasties, Ba county was changed to Chu state.

In 581 A.D., emperor Wen of Sui changed Chu state into Yu state, which was initially referred to "Chongqing" as “Yu”.

In 1189 A.D.,emperor Guangzong of Song first crowned King Gong and later became emperor. He boasted of the "double happiness" and promoted Gong Zhou to Chongqing, from which Chongqing got its name more than 800 years ago. 

In 1891, Chongqing became the first inland treaty port in China.

Chongqing was officially established in 1929.

From 1937 to 1946, Japan launched aggressive war against China. The National Government moved to Chongqing thus Chongqing became the alternate capital of the Republic of China during wartime. It was the supreme headquarters of the Anti-Japanese War and Anti-Fascism. Chongqing was also the political, economic and cultural center of China's rear area. Therefore, it was known as the "City of Three Centers".

After the National Government moved back to Nanjing, Chongqing remained a municipality.

In the early days of the founding of New China, Chongqing, as the headquarters of the southwest bureau of the CPC central committee and the southwest military and political commission, was the political, economic and cultural center of southwest China and a municipality directly under the central government.

In 1954, after the revocation of the southwest region, it was changed as the provincial municipality of Sichuan. 

In 1983, it took the lead in becoming a pilot city for comprehensive reform of the national economic system, implementing separate planning and granting provincial economic management authority.

It was established as an open city along the Yangtze River in 1992.

In September 1996, the Central Committee approved Chongqing to take charge of Wanxian City, Fuling City and Qianjiang area.

On March 14, 1997, with the approval of the fifth session of the eighth National People's Congress, Chongqing officially became a municipality directly under the Central Government, which was the fourth in China and the only one in the western region, opening a new page in the construction and development history of Chongqing.

Host: Chongqing Foreign Trade and Economic Relations CommerceUndertaker: Chongqing Investment Promotion AssociationTel: +86-023-67862888

Wechat QR code

Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved by Chongqing Foreign Trade and Relations Commision渝ICP备12005872号-5. Prohbited to Copy and any MSL